JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD MINUTES TUESDAY, August 08, 2023, 7:00 P.M.

Chair Steven Nass presiding.

County Clerk Audrey McGraw called the roll, all members being present in person except Supervisors Morris and Roberts. Supervisor Morris, having given notice, was excused.

District 1 Richard C. Jones District 3 Robert Preuss District 5 James B. Braughler	District 2 Cassie B. Richardson District 4 Karl Zarling District 6
District 7 Dwayne C. Morris	District 8 Michael Wineke
District 9 Bruce Degner	District 10 Mark Groose
District 11 Jeff Johns	District 12 Jeff Smith
District 13 Anita Martin	District 14 Kirk Lund
District 15 Steven J. Nass	District 16 Meg Turville-Heitz
District 17 Russell Kutz	District 18 Brandon White
District 19 Dave Drayna	District 20 Curtis Backlund
District 21 John C. Kannard	District 22 Blane Poulson
District 23 George Jaeckel	District 24 Roger Lindl
District 25 Matthew Foelker	District 26Joan Fitzgerald
District 27 Joan Callan	District 28 Anthony Gulig
District 29 Mary K. Roberts	District 30 Walt Christensen
Smith led the Pledge of Allegiance. A moment of silence	

Wehmeier certified compliance with the Open Meetings I aw

Approval of the Agenda. Gulig moved to accept as drafted. Seconded by Backlund and passed.

Wineke, Executive Committee Chair, moved to approve the County Board minutes from July 11, 2023. Seconded by Poulson and passed.

Communications:

was observed.

County Clerk McGraw presented the following communications:

- Notice of Public Hearing from the Jefferson County Planning and Zoning Committee for a hearing to be held on August 17, 2023, at 7:00 p.m.
- Annual Report Marsh Country Health Alliance given by Supervisor Kutz
- 3. Treasurer's Report.

Special Order of Business:

 Resolution 2023-25 Recognizing the Life-Saving Efforts of: Sergeant Amy Heggie, Sergeant Heather Novotny, Sergeant Adam Altreuter, Deputy Scott Yambor, and Deputy Michael Priebusch.

Degner moved for adoption of the Resolution 2023-25. Seconded by Backlund and passed.

Public Comment: None

Tuesday, August 8, 2023

Annual Reports:

Library Services, Library Board Representative Eric Robinson; Literacy Council Director, Pamela Waters; Health Department Director, Elizabeth Chilsen; County Clerk, Audrey McGraw; and Sheriff's office, Sheriff Paul Milbrath. The annual reports were received, placed on file, but not printed in the minutes pursuant to Board Rule 3.03(13).

Resolutions and Ordinances:

Christensen, Parks Committee Chair, introduced Resolution No. 2023-26. Amending the Jefferson County Parks Ordinance

SECTION 8.13. PARK AND TRAIL HOURS.

Christensen moved to send Resolution No. 2023-26 back to the Parks Committee for further review. Seconded by Guilig and passed.

Jaeckel, Planning and Zoning Committee Chair, introduced the following report:

REPORT TO THE HONORABLE MEMBERS OF THE JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS by the Jefferson County Planning and Zoning Committee recommending approval of petitions to amend the official zoning map of Jefferson County.

Jaeckel, Planning and Zoning Committee Chair, introduced Ordinance No. 2023-09.

Amending Official Zoning Map

WHEREAS, the Jefferson County Board of Supervisors has heretofore been petitioned to amend the official zoning map of Jefferson County, and

WHEREAS, Petitions R4480A-23, R4481A-23, R4482A-23, R4483A-23, R4484A-23, R4485A-23, and R4487A-23 were referred to the Jefferson County Planning and Zoning Committee for public hearing on July 20, 2023, and

WHEREAS, the proposed amendments have been given due consideration by the Jefferson County Board of Supervisors in open session.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED that the Jefferson County Board of Supervisors does amend the official zoning map of Jefferson County as follows: Jaeckel moved for the adoption of Ordinance No. 2023-09. Seconded by Poulson and passed.

Kannard abstained from voting due to a potential conflict of interest.

Jaeckel, Planning and Zoning Committee Chair, introduced Ordinance No. 2023-10.

Amending Section 11.10, Shoreland Provisions, of the Jefferson County Zoning Ordinance

Section 11.10 of the Jefferson County Zoning Ordinance is amended as listed in the ordinance. Due

Tuesday, August 8, 2023

to the length of this Ordinance, it has not been reprinted in the minutes but is available on the Jefferson County website for viewing.

Jaeckel moved for the adoption of Ordinance No. 2023-10. Seconded by Poulson and passed.

Appointments by County Administrator:

By virtue of the authority vested in me under Section 59.18(2)(b) of the Wisconsin Statutes, I respectfully request confirmation of the appointment.

Danielle Thompson as the Corporation Counsel for an indeterminate term.

Christensen moved to confirm the above appointment. Seconded by Backlund and passed.

Public Comment: (General) – One person from the community spoke re: Jefferson County Fair.

Announcements:

CLOSED SESSION:

Wineke moved that the Board convene in closed session pursuant to section 19.85 (1)(e) Wis. Stats. for deliberating or negotiating the purchase of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified public business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session, for the purpose of discussion on selling County owned farmland. Seconded by Braughler and passed. Ayes 28 (Jones, Richardson, Preuss, Zarling, Braughler, Herbst, Wineke, Degner, Groose, Johns, Smith, Martin, Lund, Nass, Turville-Heitz, Kutz, White, Drayna, Backlund, Kannard, Poulson, Jaeckel, Lindl, Foelker, Fitzgerald, Callan, Gulig, Christensen), Noes 0, Abstain 0, Absent 2 (Morris and Roberts), Vacant 0.

Poulson moved that the Board reconvene in open session. Seconded by Johns and passed.

Supplemental information presented at the August 08, 2023, Jefferson County Board meeting will be available at the County Clerk's office upon request during regular Courthouse hours or on the County's website at www.jeffersoncountywi.gov.

There being no further business, Gulig moved that the Board adjourn. Seconded by Jaeckel and passed at 8:41 p.m.